Whether you are a one-man band or a large marketing agency, you are probably using Google Analytics to track data on a website. Google Analytics endless features make it the go to product but have you ever thought about what to do when you no longer need it. If you get rid of a website, no longer need access to its data or your client no longer wants the service you should disconnect your Google Analytics. Even if you have deleted the website, the connection still remains with Google Analytics and adds unnecessary clutter to your dashboard. This is even more apparent for agencies where you may have many websites and only a limited number of available accounts (100 is the max). It’s a small bit of admin to take care of but it is good practice to keep things nice and neat.
How to delete a Google Analytics Property
The process of deactivating an account is very simple and will only take five minutes, below are the small steps your need to take to complete it.
- Firstly, login to your Google Analytics account and select the property you wish to delete in the top left-hand corner.
- Navigate to the admin area, the icon is located in the bottom left-hand corner.
- Select Account Settings under the account heading. You will be taken to the Account Settings page.
- To the right of the header is a button that says Move to Trash Can. Click this to start the deactivation.
- A new page will be presented with a warning, explaining what will happen if you deactivate your account and will present a few questions to make sure you are happy to move it to the Trash Can.
- Once you are ready, select the Trash Account button.
There you have it, it’s as easy as that. Note that your account, and all the properties and views contained in the account, will be permanently deleted within 35 days (monthly data backups are deleted after 84 days). Once deleted, the account is gone, and you will not able to retrieve any historical data or reinstate your reports.
How to Restore Google Analytics
We all make mistakes of course, so here is a little tutorial on restoring any Google Analytics properties you have trashed. As stated above, there are time limits to when you can restore the account but if you are within this time period this is how to do it.
- Navigate to the admin area and under the account section click the Trash Can icon.
- Here you will see a list of accounts, properties, and views that have been marked for deletion, the user that did this and the date they will be permanently deleted.
- Locate the item you with to restore, click the checkbox next to its details and select restore.
Your property or view should now be reinstated and you can use as normal. If you deleted the tracking code off your website during this period, make sure you re-add it to your website so reporting can continue.
If you haven’t set up analytics before, we recommend you do, we’ve written several articles on Google Analytics to guide you through this.
If you are finding this all abit much you can get in touch and we will help you sort your data collection out. Call 0345 200 26 50 or email email@example.com